TOGETHER – Episode 7 – Written By Faith


“Gosh no.” Ricardo said getting up and reaching for Nina’s phone, “Delete it now.”

“No,” Nina said trying to run away in her heels, “It’s way too cute for me to part with, plus I’ll need it for your wedding photos, he-he.”

“What? That doesn’t even make sense.” Ricardo who was faster and not in heels ran in front of her and stopped her, “Either you delete it or I am not driving you.”

“And you think Sierra is going to allow that? Plus I posted it as I was running. You have two hundred likes in ten seconds.”

“Really? Let me see… damn.”

“Nina, Ricardo, it’s 7:30PM, can we go?” I called from the living room.

“Ya sure, let me get the car round to the front,” he said as he headed out of the house.

Soon a black Rolls-Royce came round the corner.

“Ooh, sweet ride,” I called out from the door.

“And I call shotgun on Sierra’s behalf.” Nina said excitedly as she frolicked toward the car and opened the back door.

“Well ok,” I said as I opened the front passenger door.

The drive was quiet and in about forty-five minutes we had arrived. The venue was a beautiful, seven-story hotel called Pretoria.

Ricardo handed me out of the car, as Manuel, who was dressed in a white Claviorere exclusive suit which matched Nina’s white-gold dress walked towards the car from the reception and opened the door for Nina.

“Well, hello handsome,” Nina said as she gave him her hand.

“Wow, Nina you look, uhm, stunning.”

“Thank you.”

Soon we all walked towards the reception through the parking where a whole range of cars were stationed.

After a few turns from the grand lobby, we entered the hall which was heavily decorated with sequined streamers, illuminated ribbons, and brightly colored lights.

In the corner of the huge room was a photo booth and pictures of all the previous best-dressed winners. Best dressed is like the equivalent for prom queen and king of our school.

I don’t quite see the logic in it if you ask me, I mean it’s just a plastic crown, nothing more, to me it was the stupidest thing our school had ever come up with.

“Uh, hello, earth to Sierra.”

“What?”

“I’m off to get some punch, do you want some?” Ricardo asked.

“Ya sure.”

“Ok, I’ll be right back.”

Soon I was left to myself since Manuel and Nina had already gone to the photo booth. I got bored of looking at other girl’s dresses and matchmaking different people who had come alone and I wasn’t much of a social person, so I decided to go find my date.

As I approached the punch bar, I found him talking to my arch-nemesis.

Adriana sat on the stool nearest to him and was doing the only thing she knew best, twirling her sesame colored hair and smiling and laughing like a cat on cocaine. She made me want to throw up.

“I guess it’s very easy for you to forget things?” I asked as I approached the bar.

“Don’t get all your feathers ruffled, Sierra, we were only talking,” Adriana said with a mischievous glint in her eye.

“Hey, Sierra, look I’m sorry I forgot about your drink.”

“That’s not what I meant,” I said.

“Oh umm, do you want to go to the photo booth?”

“No. I think I’ll just go outside for a bit and leave you and your date to it.” And with that, I walked off looking for the exit of the hall.

“Sierra come on,” Ricardo said as he tried to follow me through the crowds but he got caught up with one of the chaperons.

I was soon out of the hall and was walking through the lobby only to check the time seeing it was already past my curfew. For once I wanted to go home.

Please all of you come back into the hall we will be announcing our best dressed for tonight. Please come in.

I could hear the announcer and I didn’t want to go back, but I had promised Nina I would watch it because she was so convinced she and Manuel would be the best dressed for this year’s dance.

As soon as I entered back into the hall I was met with the most bewildering sight. There standing next to the announcer was Ricardo with a crown on his head and the look of confusion and shock written all over his face and standing next to him was Adriana wearing a white tiara doing a queen wave to everyone and saying garbage like, “I just want to say how surprised I am for being chosen.”

At that moment I just wanted to be swallowed by the ground.

Soon Nina walked up to me with so much sympathy in her eyes it could have made a bull cry.

“Nina, don’t look at me like that.”

“Like what, this is what I look like normally.”

“You’re looking at me like I am the most pitiful creature in the entire universe, most likely because I am.”

“Oh, hun. I’m so sorry.” Nina said wrapping her arms around me as we walked out of the hall into the lobby.

“Why would Ricardo ask me out and then spend the night with Adriana?”

“Well, my brother may be a little kuku sometimes, but he knows what he wants and I saw the way he looks at you.”

“Ha, I probably just had something in my teeth.”

“Oh please, you practically had him gawking with his mouth open when you came down in this blue dress.”

“That must have been a great source of amusement for you,” I said giggling.

“Absolutely hilarious,” Nina said in between fits of laughter.

At that moment Ricardo came out of the hall and started walking towards us.

“Sierra, can I talk to you?”

“Sierra doesn’t want to talk to you right now Ricardo,” Nina said shaking her head with a disappointed look on her face.

“Please just give me one minute,” He begged with a trace of anxiety in his voice.

To be continued…

Leave a comment